Note to Self (174) Honey Boo Boo, Insanity, Death by Chocolate, and life in general

I have been quiet for a few days. I experienced a small meltdown, which is normal for me, but things are looking on the brighter side now. Lots has been happening. Lots I would love to talk about in detail, but I must stay patient and not spill the beans all at once. And yes, I’ll let you know as soon as I have the green light to spill all the beans. 😉

I recently started watching Honey Boo Boo on TLC. Everyone has been making fun of this show, and I guess, curiosity killed me to the point where I picked up my remote control and consciously decided to give the show a chance. Well… Episode 1 definitely threw me off my couch seat. I mean, you get the full unedited gross version of a Redneck family who literally sticks to every imaginable stereotype. South Park makes fun of people like that on a regular basis. And I’m a die hard South Park fan.

Logically then, watching Honey Boo Boo became a trip down the bowels of the earth. And I must say I love every moment of it. This is television at its worst, I know. TLC exploits this family and makes millions. Do I care? I personally think the whole concept is genius. Every episode I watch, I smile. I feel good about myself. I am entertained to the point I’m getting addicted to the whole debacle playing on my screen. This is the best thing that could have happened. And I’m not ashamed to say I’ve become a die hard Honey Boo Boo fan.

So what else do I do when I’m not following Honey Boo-Boo’s adventures? Well until recently, I’ve been watching the baseball postseason but the Nationals lost against the Cardinals and since then, I lost track of who’s gonna snatch the title. Next season the Nats get Strasburg back, so I’ve no doubt they’ll kick some ass. And no, despite living in NYC, I don’t root for the Yankees. They have enough fans, they don’t need my love.

I’m also on Week 3 of the Insanity workout. Every day I do this thing, I sweat like a maniac, and the neighbor below must hate me but do I care? NO! I feel like a champ when I do these exercises! I would never have thought I could jump so high and push so hard, but hey, everything I want comes with enough determination so I can’t complain.

Writing has been taking a lot of my time too, Death by Chocolate Volume 2 is coming out soon – please make sure to check the serial once Chapter 1 is out on www.curiosityquills.com! And yes, I’ll make announcements before Chapter 1 is released. Death by Chocolate Vol 1 will also be published as a novella around Thanksgiving. I’ll make announcements for that too. 🙂

I also did Lasik surgery a few weeks ago and boy, I like it !! 20/20 baby! I can now rock these sunglasses without the blur! 🙂

And last but not least, I added a few tattoos to my already impressive collection. Last appointment is on Friday before my guy flies to California for his new gig – which means a new vacation destination for 2013! Looking forward to starting my sleeve.

Yep, I’ve kept busy, but everything has been positive and rewarding. The best comment I got lately? The owner of the tattoo shop – and please if you live in NYC or nearby, go check Invisible Tattoo – this shop is packed with talented artists – officially welcomed me to the tattoo family, which is a pretty cool thing to say to a nerdy chick like me.

I love tattoos. I love the art world. I love my freaking life.

Peace out until further news!

6 thoughts on “Note to Self (174) Honey Boo Boo, Insanity, Death by Chocolate, and life in general

  1. Casie

    So much I could comment on, I love tattoo sleeves. I started mines about a year ago and I can’t wait to get that finished. I bet you do feel like a champ with the insanity workouts. I can’t wait to try it. I need to lose some more weight to be able to keep up with them!

    Reply
    1. themanicheans Post author

      Tattoo sleeves are badass. Love them too. Yeah the Insanity workouts are tough but they make you feel so good!!

      Keep up the hard work! 🙂 And thx for commenting!

      Reply
      1. Casie

        No prob, thanks for doing the insanity workout. I love reading about it from someone who’s actually doing the workouts versus seeing ads on tv and not really knowing what it’s really like.

      2. themanicheans Post author

        I hear ya. It’s hard. I’m not gonna lie it takes some serious determination not to give up, but I must say the way the exercises have been designed and put together makes it “easy” to stay on track. Shaun-T even if only on TV is a great motivator too. So yeah, if you have the discipline, it’s really a blast. I’m enjoying every sweaty minute of it. 🙂

  2. Michael Seese (@MSeeseTweets)

    You had me at “I don’t root for the Yankees.”

    With regard to Honey Boo Boo, you watch it for the same reason people rubberneck at traffic crashes: you want to see just how bad it really can be.

    And my unsolicited $0.02 regarding the sleeves. I have a tattoo, on my bicep (and all the way around) where even business casual covers it. Like it or not, we all are judged by our appearances. And if you get sleeves, which are visible, you will be judged.

    Reply
    1. themanicheans Post author

      Ha I agree with you on the sleeves. They actually won’t go down to my wrists. So I’ll be able to cover my arms up. You’re right, we’re all judged by our appearance, but I take the risk. 🙂 Thx for the comment!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

